Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees oversee the Academy. It is responsible for all issues relating to governance including finance, audit, risk management and human resources. The Board has the ultimate legal responsibility for the Academy. It is currently chaired by Mr Charles Winstanley.

Board of Trustees Register of Interests

Charles  became Board Chair for the Academy on 1 April 2016. A former soldier with active service in Northern Ireland and the Middle East, he later ran his own business strategy consultancy. He joined the board of an English acute Trust after treatment there following a serious motorcycle accident. He subsequently served as Chair for GMC fitness to practice panels and then became Chair of the UK’s second largest health system, NHS Lothian. During this time he was elected Chair of the Scotland Chairs. His other recent boards have included the Ministry of Defence, Scottish Government, and the Crown Office. He is a judicial member of the UK’s Asylum and Immigration Tribunal.

Pamela has extensive experience as health service manager. She has been a chief executive of health authority and of the institute of Health Service Management and vice-chair of a Foundation Trust. She is Independent Chair of Hampshire Safeguarding Adults Board and a member of the Mental Health Review Tribunal.

Miller McLean is a chartered banker and solicitor. He retired in April 2010 as Group General Counsel and Group Secretary of The Royal Bank of Scotland Group plc. He stood down as Chairman of Adam & Company on 11th July 2017 and resigned as a Director of Adam & Company Group plc and Adam Investments Limited effective from the same date.

Throughout his career, he developed skills in governance and strategic planning at Board level. A former President and Honorary Fellow of the Institute of Bankers in Scotland, he received the Law Awards of Scotland Lifetime Achievement Award in 2005. He is a Trustee of National Museums Scotland, a member of the Court of Queen Margaret University, Edinburgh and a member of the Executive Committee of the David Livingstone Trust. He is a former Chairman of the Industry and Parliament Trust and of the Whitehall and Industry Group.

He is currently a member of Court of Queen Margaret University, Edinburgh and the Executive Committee of the David Livingston Trust.

President, Royal College of Pathologists

Suzanne McCarthy held several senior positions during her executive career including Immigration Services Commissioner and Chief Executive of both the Human Fertilisation and Embryology Authority and the Financial Services Compensation Scheme.

Suzanne is currently Chairman of the Joint Audit Panel of the Mayor’s Office of Police and Crime and the Metropolitan Police Service, Chairman of the Southwark and Lambeth Integrated Health Partnership and Chairman of Depaul UK, a charity concerned with youth homelessness. She is also a member of several boards including the Advertising Standards Authority, the Fundraising Regulator, where she chairs the Code of Standards Committee, and the Architects Registration Board. In addition, she serves as the Independent Appointed Person for the Greater London Authority. Her previous Board appointments include the General Medical Council. Before entering the public sector, Suzanne worked as a solicitor in private practice and was a lecturer in Law at the University of Manchester.


Academy Officers

The Chairman is supported by two vice-chairs, elected by council, and the Chairman of the RCGP alongside the Honorary Secretary/Treasurer. The Officers progress Academy business and determine items for Council.

Professor Carrie MacEwen

Dr Liam Brennan, President, Royal College of Anaesthetists

Professor Jane Dacre, President, Royal College of Physicians of London

Dr Tony Falconer OBE

Professor Helen Stokes Lampard, Chair of Council, Royal College of General Practitioners

The Academy Council

The Academy Council comprises the Presidents of the member Colleges and Faculties  (plus the Chairman of the Royal College of General Practitioners Council) and four coopted council members.

Dr Liam Brennan, Vice Chair
Royal College of Anaesthetists

Professor Michael Escudier, Dean
Faculty of Dental Surgery

Dr Tajek Hassan, President
Royal College of Emergency Medicine

Dr Carol Seymour
Faculty of Forensic and Legal Medicine

Professor Nigel Mathers, Honorary Secretary
Royal College of General Practitioners

Dr Helen Stokes-Lampard, Chairman of the Council
Royal College of General Practitioners

Dr Carl Waldmann, Dean
Faculty of Intensive Care Medicine

Dr Lesley Regan, President
Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists

Dr Richard Heron, President
Faculty of Occupational Medicine

Dr Mike Burden, President
Royal College of Ophthalmologists

Professor Neena Modi, President
Royal College of Paediatrics & Child Health

Dr Alan Boyd, President
Faculty of Pharmaceutical Medicine

Dr Suzy Lishman, President
Royal College of Pathologists

Professor Derek Bell, President
Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh

Professor Frank Murray, President
Royal College Physicians of Ireland

Professor Jane Dacre, President
Royal College of Physicians of London

Professor David Galloway, President
Royal College of Physicians & Surgeons of Glasgow

Professor Wendy Burn, President
Royal College of Psychiatrists

Professor John Middleton, President
Faculty of Public Health

Dr Nicola Strickland, President
Royal College of Radiologists

Dr Asha Kasliwal, President
Faculty of Sexual and Reproductive Health

Dr Paul Jackson, President
Faculty of Sport & Exercise Medicine UK

Mr Mike Lavelle Jones, President
Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh

Professor Derek Alderson, President
Royal College of Surgeons of England

Professor John Hyland, President
Royal College of Surgeons of Ireland

Coopted Members

Dr Paul Myres, Chair
Academy of Medical Royal Colleges in Wales

Mr Peter Rees, Chair
Academy Patient/Lay Committee

Dr Jon Bailey, Chair
Academy Trainee Doctors Group

Dr Kirstin May, Chair
Academy Staff and Associate Specialist Doctors Committee

Professor Ellen O’Sullivan, Chair
Forum of Irish Postgraduate Deans



The Academy’s staff are based in the offices in Clerkenwell, London. The Academy employs 12 permanent members of staff and also contracts others on a consultancy basis to undertake specific projects. The Chief Executive is Mr Alastair Henderson. Contact us