The Academy of Medical Royal Colleges has appointed Charles Winstanley as the Chair of its Board of Trustees from 1 April 2016. He takes over from the current Chair, Walter Merricks, whose term of office ends on 31 March 2016.

The Board of Trustees is responsible for the governance and management of the Academy whilst the Council, comprising the Presidents of all member Colleges and Faculties, retains responsibility for all medical and professional issues.

Charles Winstanley has extensive experience as a Chair and Non-Executive director. He has chaired Scotland’s second largest health board, served on the board of an English NHS Trust, and chaired GMC panels. His non-executive roles have included the UK Supreme Court, the Scottish Government, and the Ministry of Defence. He previously ran his own management consultancy.

Professor Dame Sue Bailey, Chair of the Academy Council, said
“I am delighted to welcome Charles as the new Chair of our Board of Trustees. He brings huge experience and expertise which will be of great benefit to the Academy. His experience of healthcare in Scotland will enhance the Academy’s position as a four country organisation. I look forward to working with Charles to develop the Academy over the coming years.

I must also thank Walter Merricks for all his work as the current chair of the Board of Trustees. As the first ever Academy Board Chair he has ensured that the Academy’s revised governance has worked really effectively and provided excellent leadership and guidance for the Board.”

Charles Winstanley said
“I am delighted to be asked to take on this role. I look forward to working with the Trustees to ensure that the Academy is a thriving and sustainable organisation in support of the Council’s broad programme of work.”


The Chair of Board of Trustees was appointed in accordance with the Academy’s Regulations following open advertisement of the post and competitive interview.

The Interview Panel comprised:
Ms Pamela Charlwood, – Current Independent Trustee (Panel Chair)
Professor Dame Sue Bailey, Chair Academy Council
Professor Jane Dacre, Academy Vice-Chair, President Royal College of Physicians (London)
Dr Giles Maskell, President Royal College of Radiologists
Mr Ian Wylie, Chief Executive, Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists

The term of office for the Chair of the Board is three years which may be renewed for a further three years with agreement.