Professor Carrie MacEwen, current President of the Royal College of Ophthalmologists, has been elected as the new Chair of the Academy of Medical Royal Colleges to take over from Professor Dame Sue Bailey who demits office in July. Her appointment follows a ballot of the members of the Academy.

Professor MacEwen said,
“I am delighted and honoured to have been elected as Chair of the Academy Council. The Academy has a hugely important role to play in providing a coordinated voice of medical royal colleges and doctors on cross-specialty issues.

With the pressures facing the NHS across the UK it is increasingly important there is a clear, cohesive and constructive voice from the medical profession. I believe we can make a difference by offering viable and pragmatic solutions to the current problems and pressures, of which we are all aware. I look forward to working with Academy members and all our stakeholders over the coming three years.

Finally I would like to pay tribute and offer my personal thanks to Professor Dame Sue Bailey who has steered the Academy with wisdom and admirable patience over some pretty difficult times. I know we will all miss Sue when she demits office in the summer”

Professor Dame Sue Bailey, current chair of the Academy Council said,
“My warm congratulations to Carrie on her election as Chair of the Academy and also my thanks to the other candidates. It was very healthy that we had three candidates wanting to be chair of the Academy – and all were women!

There is an opportunity to make a difference in this role on behalf of patients and the quality of care from a medical perspective and Carrie will provide constructive and engaging leadership for the Academy and promote its role across the four nations of the UK. I am sure that Carrie will be an ideal chair for the Academy”

Charles Winstanley, Chair of the Academy Board of Trustees said,
“I look forward to working with Carrie when she takes office as Chair of the Academy Council. I do want to place on record the Board’s thanks to Professor Dame Sue Bailey for the exceptional work she has done as Chair of the Academy.”



1. Professor Caroline (Carrie) MacEwen MD FRCS FRCOphth FFSEM FRCPE is a Consultant Ophthalmologist at Ninewells Hospital, Dundee and holds an Honorary Chair as Head of the Department of Ophthalmology at the University of Dundee. She is ophthalmology Specialty Adviser to the Scottish Government and is the National GIRFT Lead for Ophthalmology in England. Carrie is an Associate post-graduate Dean in the East of Scotland for less than full time medical post-graduate training and career management.

Professor MacEwen was elected the 10th President of The Royal College of Ophthalmologists (2014-2017). She has been on the Academy of Medical Royal Colleges Council since 2014 and been on the Board of Trustees since 2015

She has published more than 150 papers and written and contributed to textbooks for both undergraduate students and qualified doctors

2. The Chair of the Council of the Academy of Medical Royal Colleges is chosen by the current members of the Council (the Presidents of all the member Colleges and Faculties) by ballot. Those eligible to stand are either the Presidents/Head Officers of current member organisations or the immediate past president/head officers of member organisations.

3. There were three candidates for election:- Professor Carrie MacEwen, President of the Royal College of Ophthalmologists, Professor Maureen Baker, immediate past Chair of the RCGP and Professor Neena Modi, President of the Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health. Voting was through a system of ranked preference voting.

4. Professor MacEwen will take office for her three year term on 19 July.