connect with us on twitter

Board of Trustees

The Academy Board of Trustees is separate from the Council and is responsible for the overall governance of the Academy including all issues relating to finance, audit, governance and risk management. The Board of Trustees has ultimate legal responsibility for the Academy and must therefore be assured that the policy proposals and work programme proposed by the Academy Council are compatible with the Academy’s aims and are affordable. 

The Board of Trustees has eight members made up of four independently appointed Trustees (including the Chairman) as well as the Academy Council Chairman, Honorary Secretary/Treasurer and two further members elected from the Council. The Board of Trustees meets four times a year. 

Walter Merricks, CBE, Chairman

Walter qualified as a solicitor and had a career in legal world. He now holds a portfolio of board level posts in not-for-profit, public sector and charitable organisations. He was a board member of the Human Fertilisation and Embryology Authority and subsequently chaired the Office of the Health Professions Adjudicator. He has been Assistant Secretary-General of The Law Society, the Insurance Ombudsman, and the chief ombudsman of the Financial Ombudsman Service.

Paul Coombes

Paul was a Director at McKinseys and is currently Chairman of the Centre for Corporate Governance at the London Business School. He was a member of the initial group devising the Academy’s new governance arrangements.

Pamela Charlwood

Pamela has extensive experience as health service manager. She has been a chief executive of a health authority and of the Institute of Health Service Management and vice-chair of a Foundation Trust. She is Independent Chair of Hampshire Safeguarding Adults Board and a member of the Mental Health Review Tribunal.

Howard Young

Howard is a surgeon by training. He was previously the Vice Dean for Wales of Postgraduate Medical Education and a non-executive director of Cardiff and Vale NHS Trust

Other members of the board

Professor Dame Sue Bailey, Academy Chairman

Dr Tony Falconer, Academy Honorary Secretary/Treasurer

Mr Ian Richie, President, Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh

Dr Mike Pringle, President, Royal College of General Practitioners